Fadoodle Faces

While out hiking recently I spotted a little face on a log, then in a rock. Before I knew it I had close to 10 images of faces in nature. Looking for a good title I discovered I am not alone. Social media even has a hash tag #iseefaces. As I researched it more I found there is a name for it pareidolia (para-dole-ee-ah). Pareidolia is the brain’s way we perceive a sound or image of patterns. Some believe we see these images because it is how we are hard-wired. Our brain tries to make sense of what we are looking at and the most familiar is to see faces. (David Robson -bbc.com)

Then I remembered the first ‘face’ I saw while working in Shanghai. I was walking home and something caught my attention. I stopped to look closer and saw a little face looking back from me. The tangle of the branches and these white shell looking items made a little face. Can you see it?

A little face... what does it look like to you?

A little face… what does it look like to you?

And there is more. One of my most popular posts was ‘double take’ and it has a little face too.

Have you ever seen a face in nature? an object? food? Tell us about it below, or better yet provide a link to your post for us to check it out. Please link back to this post Fadoodle Faces for everyone to check out the pareidolia. Can we see what you see?

Over the next few weeks I will post more faces, pareidolia. Stay tuned…

 

Categories: Nature, unique experiences | Tags: , , , , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Fadoodle Faces

  1. John

    It is a tiny alien !

  2. Mine are usually trees, they have Ent faces!

  3. I love that you see the Ents too!

  4. So tiny! What an observation you have. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Fadoodle Faces #2 | Canadian Travel Bugs

  6. Pingback: Barn eyes | Patchwork Ponderings

  7. Pingback: Fadoodle Faces #3 | Canadian Travel Bugs

  8. Pingback: Fadoodle Faces #4 | Canadian Travel Bugs

  9. Pingback: Fadoodle Faces #5 | Canadian Travel Bugs

  10. Pingback: Fadoodle Faces #6 | Canadian Travel Bugs

  11. Pingback: Fadoodle Faces #7 | Canadian Travel Bugs

What do you think eh?

