The Great Wall -Boundary Post #2

This week’s theme is boundaries and as I said in the last post I feel boundaries can be physical, political or emotional. My first post showed something very political with pictures of the DMZ between North and South Korea.

In this post I want to show something that can be emotional as well as physical.

The Great Wall - a boundary physical as well as emotional

The Great Wall – a boundary physical as well as emotional

The Great Wall of China was an easy link to boundaries that are physical and even political. The wall was built to keep out the invaders from long ago. It divided the boundaries between the Chinese civilization and the Huns and Mongolians. However, for me it is also emotional as I think about our time in China. It was a place I never thought I would see in real life. I was lucky enough to visit it twice. We have many fond memories of trips and friends in China. Sometimes it feels a little emotional as we move on across boundaries. The challenges we faced while there and how it changed us crossed cultural boundaries within. I wish there was a photo to show that emotional journey, but this was the best I could do. Feelings cannot always be put into words, or displayed in a photo. It is personal about my experiences then and now, so you will just have to trust me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

There are more interpretations of boundaries here.

 

 

Categories: China, History, teaching overseas, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “The Great Wall -Boundary Post #2

  1. Perfect for the challenge. You photographed it beautifully. ๐Ÿ˜Š

  2. Perfect for this challenge! We loved visiting the Great Wall, although we only saw a small portion of it. Would love to go back with more time.

    • I would have loved to go to the start of the wall, or a more remote section too. Oh well I always say leave something ‘undone’ when traveling so it is a good reason to go back!

  3. Great shot of the GW!! Perfect for the challenge theme. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Beautiful Click. I had this image on my mind. Thanks for sharing this photo

  5. As someone who gets emotional whenever I leave even a holiday destination I can totally empathise.

  6. Stunning captures of this historic monument. Thank you for the beautiful and thoughtful history of it. I feel sure this is on everyone’s bucket list, certainly it is on mine! Thank you for taking me there.

    • Thank you for your kind words and traveling with me ๐Ÿ™‚ I posted on the Great Wall many times since we got to visit it twice while we lived in Shanghai. I was amazed to be there. This shot wasn’t a favourite at first, but I think it shows boundary well and is getting a good response from the blogging world.

  7. CTB, the perfect challenge response-both the subject and the thoughts with it. Photo is terrific and I can feel your trepidation as well as your enthusiasm. You go girl—I know you’ll land on solid ground!

    • Thanks Tina. I have posted so many photos of the Great Wall I decided to post a different one and have been getting some great feedback on it. Just shows you my favourite isn’t always the most liked out there in the world ๐Ÿ˜‰
      The change and decision to move home was hard, but really had to be done. With the air and my health it was the right choice. We are now trying to find our way and decide where to settle…. Ontario vs Alberta. Lots to think about and many pros and cons of both. The ‘job’ will end up deciding for us. Although I would love to live close to the mountains and trade one skyline for the total opposite.

  8. Still only managed to get to part of the Great Wall once but it was so completely memorable! Would love to have a chance to get back again. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • We went to the same part twice and would have loved to see other areas to compare, but yes still worth it! The last trip we hired a driver, so had our own time to wander and explore. It was SO much better that way. We went beyond the tourist section to the unrestored part and it was SO cool to see the original rock and workmanship. That certainly made it better.

  9. This is a place I hope I get to visit some day, lucky you are to have experienced it twice!

    • Yes we were very lucky. We lived in Shanghai for 5 years and it took us 3 years to finally get there. A friend came to visit and she couldn’t come to China and not see the Great Wall, so we headed there again. It is a very inexpensive trip by train from Shanghai. The second trip was much better since we did it with a driver and could stay as long as we wanted. The first trip was rushed since we did a tour and had other stops and terrible traffic to deal with.

What do you think eh?

