Tourist in Your Own Town: Parks

It was suggested to make the theme more user friendly I should post it on a regular basis. With a full time job teaching there is little free time, so weekly would be difficult. I decided to try monthly. Each new month I will post a theme for Tourist in Your Own Town. You can then post your own photos about where you live fitting that theme, so we can all learn a little bit more about each other and where we come from.

This month I was thinking about Parks since I went to the small park to see the lotus flowers a few weeks ago. My friend and fellow blogger Lavendar Ladi and I often think alike and she posted about a park before I got this post completed! Great minds… and when you have been friends as long as we have…. well that is just scary sometimes 😉

Here are a few PARK photos from Shanghai….

These parks are in Shanghai. Most parks here are wide open green spaces because most people live in apartments. There are flower gardens and paths for bikes that you can rent too. One funny thing I noticed are the tents! Not for camping, but relaxing and staying out of the sun 🙂

The rules….

  • Post something at a/about park where you live and use the tag Tourist in Your Own Town
  •  add the link to your post in the comment section below
  • link your post back to this post, so we can share about our wonderful neighbourhoods

Stay tuned….

Categories: Photography, Tourist in My Own Town, travel, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

27 thoughts on “Tourist in Your Own Town: Parks

    • No please… It was only an idea and I ran out out of weekend to share. This only got me movin’ 😉 I hurried a post before I ran off to work… ahhhh never enough time.

  1. vastlycurious.com

    I really want to do this ! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Freda Goulet

    Interesting that they have tents to keep out of the sun…our version of portable sun umbrellas. Whatever works when it is HOT!

    • Having nice white skin is important to them… darker skin means you are a labourer working outside. They use umbrellas with UV protection when walking around, tents at the park and whitening creams! Then there is us westerners… just the opposite with tanning salons, beach holidays and bronzers 😉

  3. That’s a beautiful park!

  4. Pingback: Two Ways From Harbourfront Station | Journeys of the Fabulist

  5. Here you go:
    http://fantasyholidays.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/two-ways-from-harbourfront-station/

    Two Ways From Harbourfront Station provides two different walks through several different parks in Singapore, starting from Harbourfront MRT station.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. It’s amazing how many beautiful parks there are in Chinese cities!

    • I know there are a lot and they are always busy! Maybe because so many people live in high rises? I am lucky our apartment block was well designed with a small green space in the middle and stream. It is nicer than looking at another wall 😉
      My favourite park was in Beijing. I should have added a picture of it too. It was very large and the temple of Heaven is also there. What I loved was the local people gathering and playing games, knitting and chatting. Some of them even got us tourists involved in the games. It was SO much fun. They were pretty impressed that my husband was so good at their hoop game. A game where you catch foam hoops around your neck.

      • Those parks are actually so good for socializing and it’s amazing how much is going on in the parks. It’s just so different from western parks and visiting parks in China is like a tourist attraction in some ways. I’m still so amazed of all the people dancing, knitting, singing, playing instruments etc. in the parks. Always brings a smile to my face 🙂
        And it’s so cool that the locals are happy to involve locals to the games.
        Wow this foam hoops game sounds fun, I would like to try that as well 😀 seems like your husband is talented in this game 😉

        • Yes true I notice that too… people are more social and each night the centre ‘park’ of our apartment complex is filled with people dancing, talking, walking and kids playing. So different than home where everyone stays in stuck watching TV.
          Many of the locals do try to interact with us and we always smile and say hello even if we can’t communicate a lot.
          My husband was surprisingly good at this game. He really surprised the older gentlemen playing. It was such a fun day.

          • Yeah westerns should really learn from chinese in this.. less tv and more activities outside!
            Actually on Sunday I joined with some ladies who were dancing outside and it was so much fun 🙂 they were all so cheerful and welcoming. Super cool experience.

  7. These are all beautiful. The one with the bridge is my favorite. A perfect play to unwind and have a fun time. Have a great weekend.