Shanghai Street Scenes: Photo Challenge

This week WP has asked us to show a street scene. There are so many interesting sights and sounds here in Shanghai that it is hard to pick what to show you. Streets are generally crowded with people and sellers showing off all things to tempt you from t-shirts to DVDs to books to dishes to flowers and fruit.

A few weeks ago we had some visitors from home and we took to the streets. Here are some new and interesting shots I captured while we toured around.

Enjoy my views of the streets of Shanghai.

One thing you see on occasion is a small gathering of men playing this traditional game.

Game ON!

Game ON!

************************

These men were near the bird and insect market that I posted about here. Quite a crowd gathered to see this man’s items for sale and  little birds.

For Sale

For Sale

****************************

A typical side street is crowded with people, bikes, and cars. There is always laundry hanging out of windows. It certainly makes for an interesting site. This is more typical in the older part of Shanghai. With newer buildings the balcony has racks for hanging laundry so it is not as noticeable.

Laundry Day

Laundry Day

 

Please visit Word Press to see more examples or find out how to participate.

Stay tuned…

 

Categories: Chinese Adventures, Culture, Photography, Tourist in My Own Town, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , ,

Post navigation

27 thoughts on “Shanghai Street Scenes: Photo Challenge

  1. Pingback: Round: Tourist in Your Own Town | Canadian Travel Bugs

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Beijing Daily Photo 2

  4. Freda Goulet

    Great shots….I’m being cynical, but with all the smoggy days how clean can the laundry be when dried on the balcony?

    • I often wonder the same thing, but a warm sunny day dries it faster than inside. I guess you need to pick the lesser of 2 evils 😉

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Wright Outta Nowhere

  6. What a fab place to wander around.

    • It is very interesting. Oh if I only had my camera ready all the time. SO many amazing sites and sounds that I have missed capturing on film.

  7. I’d love to hang my laundry outside to dry but I’d have to use a line–no balcony. 🙂

    janet

    • In Canada my mom still has a clothes line across the yard. I love the smell of fresh laundry dried outside. Not so sure it would be the same here 😉

  8. Pingback: Crazy Tini on the back porch street | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  9. I love these sets of shots, each one is very interesting and really puts together a bigger picture of Shangai! Wonderful job!

    • Thanks so much. Every street and corner is filled with some sort of interesting and unusual sights. This is just a few recent captures.
      Thanks for the visit… I headed over to see you blog but there was no where to leave a comment or likes.

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: New Orleans Street Life | Humbled Pie

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Street Life Winter 1982 | What's (in) the picture?

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life – California Road Trip | Charlotte's big Inca Trail Challenge

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life (part 2) | Eye Candy Visionz

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Eye Candy Visionz

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life (part 3) | Eye Candy Visionz

  16. For some reason, I really like the laundry shot. Maybe because it’s something we don’t see near here.

  17. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Life is great

  18. Pingback: “Street Life” | My Atheist Blog