Muse: Shanghai Skyline

When we first arrived, a fellow teacher looked out the windows in our building facing the Lujiazui area, and admired the Shanghai skyline. With a sigh they said “One day I won’t get to see this everyday.” That really stuck with me. I made a point to daily look out the windows, outside our door, near the elevators. I saw the skyline change and grow over 5 years. At night it sparkled in colour and in day it sometimes reflected the light. I saw it with blue sky, at sunset with beautiful hues and become invisible in rain, smog and pollution. Now we are down to days and soon it will only be a memory. WordPress asked to show our muse and over the last 5 years mine has been the Shanghai skyline. I must have hundreds of pictures of it, mostly from the same vantage point. A bitter-sweet ending to our time in Shanghai; what a fitting theme. Enjoy the slide show, of 16 photos, with some of my favourite photos of my muse. A tribute to a city I have called home for the last 5 years.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What will my new muse be? Stay tuned….

Categories: China, Photography, teaching overseas, Tourist in My Own Town, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Muse: Shanghai Skyline

  1. I like how you’ve presented a selection of different captures of a similar view. And quite a poignant text, too.

    • Thanks very much 🙂 I love looking at the view and the forever changing colours and skyline. It will be one of the things I miss the most.

  2. I love your photos and my favorite is the Citrus one. My friend is currently working in Shanghai and I’ve been to visit twice and adore it.

  3. Pingback: Thrift Story Candy | litadoolan

  4. You’ve had Quite an adventure CTB. So glad I could share a bit of it with you! Photos are lovely and a fond memory. Can’t wait to see what’s next!

    • Tina it has been an adventure. I will miss this life and the sites, but it is time to move on. I am afraid the next adventure may not be as exciting back home, but we need the recharge of a slower pace and fresh air. Travel will always be there for our adventurous spirits. Thanks for sharing with us. It is a wonderful memory of walking along the Bund at night and seeing the fantastic skyline with you both.

  5. Wow, beautiful capture! I know that you have been wanting to come home… but, you had a great adventure! 🙂