Earth, Sea & Distance: Photo Challenges

I have decided to combine the weekly photo challenges into one this week. Pixelventures has asked us to post on EARTH, while Where’s My Backpack is on a long distance trip, so she has set the theme (off in the) DISTANCE and Word Press asked about the SEA. Word Press suggested we talk about the first time we were at the sea or other feelings surrounding water. I love relaxing by the ocean and hearing the gentle waves lap at the shores. It has been just over a year since we were in Cuba for a two week glorious holiday by the sea. Last year our many return trips to Canada only left 2 short mini holidays and none of them took us to the sea. 😦 Check out the links above to participate and find out more about the themes and their meaning. See below for how I interpreted and combined the three themes into one πŸ˜‰ .

Here is where the earth meets the sea… and the only thing off in the distance are the clouds.

View from my Beach Chair in Cuba

View from my Beach Chair in Cuba

A view of the sea in the distance through the trees in the Philippines. At this resort the earth is celebrated with gardens and natural building materials. No phone, or TV to distract you. Only the sounds of nature to lull you to sleep each night in your open air hut.

Nature's Rhythym -wind, waves and wonderful

Nature’s rhythm – wind, waves and wonderful

High above the earth we caught sight of the sea and some small islands in the distance.

DSC03690

A new day as the sunΒ  in the distance rises over the earth and sparkles across the sea in Vietnam.

Sunrise Sparkles on the Surf

Sunrise Sparkles on the Surf

These photos may look familiar since they all come from previous posts, but I thought they were worth sharing again πŸ˜‰

Stay tuned…

Categories: Photography, travel, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

41 thoughts on “Earth, Sea & Distance: Photo Challenges

  1. I can hear the ocean roar!

  2. Great photos πŸ™‚

  3. Love the first shot!

  4. Suzanne

    Beautiful photos and a very clever way to combine all those challenges. I love the photo of sea from on high.

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea (Sunrise) | What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: SEA | 2013 Weekly Photo Challenge Blog

  7. Pingback: Anchored – Capri, Italy | alternative.reality

  8. I like the one shot from the air. It looks optimistic to me. All the edges blurred and full of possibility.

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea | Erin O'Leary Photography

  10. Wonderful selections! I like the first one πŸ™‚

  11. Time spent by the sea is always so relaxing! Great photos for this challenge.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I love holidays by the sea. We used to go every summer as a kid and the waters were too cold for swimming, but the salty air and playing in the sand was still fun.

  12. I love how you mix the photo challenges!

  13. Thanks for coming by my blog today, I love this challenge. You did a great job with your pictures of the seas for this weeks challenge.

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Sea | Joe's Musings

  15. They all look like they’re worth looking at more than once, for sure. So peaceful. Nature at its finest, CTB. πŸ˜‰

  16. Oh yes oh yes oy…. Those photos are so marvellous – I really wished I was there…Splendid!!

  17. Pingback: 9/1/13 Travel Theme: Distance | The Quotidian Hudson

  18. Pingback: Pixelventures Photo Finish: 4 September 2013 | We Drink Because We're Poets

  19. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sea (3) | Bastet and Sekhmet

  20. Ha… love food, drink and sea/foot photos.

    • I think they are becoming the must have shot on every beach holiday πŸ˜‰

      • I agree.. I have a friend who has started a “foot” blog.. most show pics of his feet in various locations.. after a couple of years his photos included his new wife.. (feet) and in a bit longer.. baby feet will also appear.. so cool.

        • What a cool idea! I was thinking about posting my recent pedicures… I had a few fun ones instead of just colour, They have been a big hit with my class and parents πŸ˜‰

          • You should. I think that’s a great idea. I like quirky things. My cousin is a photographer out of NY.. I hear she is pretty good.. but my favorite thing she does is a special Christmas Tree light photo project. Quirky and cool

            • Sounds great. Where can I see it? Does she post her photos?
              I like quirky too… catches your attention. I have enjoyed doing close ups lately. Seems to add detail to photos that I enjoy. I also like to look for unusual things to snap. Makes the best memories if you can capture it on film.
              Oh I did post my fancy pedis… or all the ones I had photos of. πŸ˜‰

              • I agree. She doesn’t have a blog that I know of.. she’s actually a paid photographer and so I only saw her work when I visited her home. I actually had no idea that is what she did.. very cool. I love the blogging here just because it’s given me so many good ideas.

                • Yes that is true. I could spend days and days and sift through blogs. I don’t get to as much as I would like being busy with work… but it is something I try to do and get inspired πŸ™‚

  21. Pingback: Travel theme: Distance | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

  22. A dream place to be but I would say the first one is my favorite. I would love to just chill, relax and enjoy the blue clear waters.

    • Yup me too πŸ™‚ It has been awhile since we have been to the beach and it is calling me… πŸ˜‰ maybe at Christmas we will get there.