Companions: Weekly Photo Challenge

This week’s photo challenge set by word press is companionable. In our life we have many campanions, human and otherwise. Here are some (not a complete list as it is ever changing) examples of mine:

my travel companion... can't leave home without it!

my travel companion… can’t leave home without it!

Just travelling half way around the globe I thought about my passport. Can’t go anywhere without it. My number one travel companion. If you forget anything else you can always pick up a replacement at your destination. My camera and passport are the 2 must haves for any trip… everything else is secondary.

need I say more?

need I say more?

In China I miss Tim Horton’s creamy coffee. Tea is the drink of choice in China hence the saying ‘all the tea in China’, so coffee, or good coffee is hard to come by. There is Starbucks and a few other chains, but one they are expensive (about $4-$4.50 a cup!) and not open until 7 and my bus picks me up at 7:03. Besides I find them too strong. It is hard to get a coffee maker and why bother since cream is even harder to find. Coffee and cream will also set you back a small fortune, so I must live on small instant nescafe packets. BLUCK… which are still expensive compared to home. I dream about real coffee and can’t wait to get the steamy, creamy cup into me when I get back on Canadian soil. Funny since I was a home-brew girl, but now it is Timmies! The Toronto airport has a few shops and one right by the departure gate, so I can take my last one right on the plane. Great companions: a double double and maple dip donut… need I say more?

Willow, my furry companion

Willow, my furry companion

Willow the newest addition to our family is a great companion. I didn’t think I could get another pet so soon after Holly, but this little fur monster warmed and purred her way into our hearts. She is very active and funny. Willow loves to play and is great company when John is away. She awaits my arrival each night and greets me at the door. Each night she likes to snuggle under the covers and plays fetch with me everyday. She certainly keeps us entertained with her silly antics.

my life long partner in crime and loving companion

my life long partner in crime and loving companion

My number one companion is my husband. It is hard when we are apart and frustrating when we only have the internet to interact. It is best when we are together.

Be sure to head over to WordPress to join in and see more example of companions.

So what is your companion you can’t live without?

Stay tuned….

Categories: post a week, Uncategorized, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Companions: Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Well done! I can relate to all — except the coffee.
    China would be my cup of tea! when it comes to tea —

  2. I like the varieties of the tea flavors in China 🙂

    • Yes there is a better flavour in the tea there… I love the floral teas that are actual flowers in a glass that burst open. Not only taste good, but look pretty too.

      • Maybe, you could write a post about tea in China 🙂

        • Thanks Amy, That is a great idea. I have been to two tea ceremonies…. I will have to do that when I go back so I can get those pics.

  3. Love the passport, and Willow, and Timmy’s!

    • Thanks. Willow has really grown in the last few weeks. The kennel sent me the best photo of her. If I can figure out how to save it on the iPad I will post it.
      I think for the first time ever my passport may be filled before it expires ! Gotta make the most of it since this may be my last year abroad…. Maybe…. For now?
      And Timmies…. Just yum! It is even better when you drink pale dishwater consistency all year 😉

  4. Pingback: Books, dogs and that Sunday morning feeling | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Companionable | Joe's Musings